{{ article.title }}

Nine WCC Volleyball Players Earn AVCA Division I Regional Awards

Dec. 10, 2013

2013 AVCA All-Region Teams | | TheW.tv | WCC on Google+

SAN BRUNO, Calif. --- Nine West Coast Conference women's volleyball players were named to several AVCA Region teams, while University of San Diego head coach Jennifer Petrie was tabbed the Pacific South Region Coach of the Year. BYU and San Diego, both of which are competing in the 2013 NCAA Tournament's Sweet 16, saw players named to the AVCA Pacific South Region team and Honorable Mention, while Pepperdine rounded out the list in sophomore setter Becca Strehlow. The WCC was also represented by one selection in the Pacific North Region in Saint Mary's College's Jordan Shaw along with Honorable Mention selections Kristina Graven (Saint Mary's) and Savannah Blinn (Gonzaga University).

Below are the names of all the WCC players selected to this year's AVCA All-Region Teams. The NCAA Tournament will continue this Friday as WCC champion San Diego faces eighth-seeded Nebraska at the Devaney Center at 5 p.m. (PST), while BYU takes on No. 6 USC at the Galen Center at 5 p.m. (PST).

Pacific North Region
Jordan Shaw, Saint Mary's College, OH, Sr.

Honorable Mention
Kristina Graven, Saint Mary's College, OH, Sr.
Savannah Blinn, Gonzaga University, OH, RS So.

Pacific South Region
Alaysia Brown, University of San Diego, OH, Jr.
Chloe Ferrari**University of San DiegoMB, Sr.
Alexa Gray, BYU, OH, So.
Becca Strehlow, Pepperdine University, S, So.

Coach of the Year: Jennifer Petrie, University of San Diego

Honorable Mention
Camry Godfrey, BYU, S, So.
C'era Oliveira, University of San Diego, L, Sr.

** indicate the amount of times a player as made it onto an AVCA All-Region Team (excluding honorable mention).

For a full list of the 2013 AVCA Division I All-Region Teams, click here.