{{ article.title }}

Three WCC Programs Qualify For 2015 NCAA Tournament

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook


SAN BRUNO, Calif. – For the seventh consecutive season at least three West Coast Conference women’s soccer programs will advance to the 2015 NCAA Tournament as announced today. Fresh off winning its fourth straight WCC Championship, No. 13 BYU, Loyola Marymount and No. 15 Santa Clara will compete in the postseason.

A perennial multi-bid conference, the Cougars make their fourth straight NCAA postseason trip as a WCC member (17th overall), the Lions prepare for their third foray into the tournament while the Broncos ready for their 25th berth. 

Two WCC programs will host opening round matches in the 2015 NCAA Tournament and all three sides open play Saturday, Nov. 14. A No. 4 national seed, Santa Clara will host an opening round match against Long Beach State (12-6-3, 6-2 Big West) at Stevens Stadium in a 1:00 p.m. contest. BYU collected the league’s automatic qualifier and will host Utah Valley (14-6-1, 7-2-1 WAC) at 1:00 p.m. MT in Provo. Loyola Marymount will make its first NCAA appearance since 2006 when it travels to Berkeley to square off against No. 3 Cal (13-5-3) at 12:00 p.m. in Edwards Stadium. 

Winners of four straight WCC regular season championships, BYU (15-2-2-, 7-1-1 WCC) is set to host an NCAA Tournament match for the third time in four seasons. The Cougars welcome the WAC Tournament Champion Wolverines to South Field. It is only the second all-time meeting between the two programs as Utah Valley makes its NCAA Tournament debut. 

After establishing program bests for overall (13) and conference (7) victories, Loyola Marymount (13-5-1, 7-2 WCC) posted 10 shutouts. The Lions and Golden Bears are 1-1-0 in the all-time series and last met in a 2-1 Cal victory in Berkeley during the 2010 campaign. 

Santa Clara (13-5-2, 6-1-2 WCC) carries a six-match unbeaten streak into the postseason. The Broncos are 4-0-0 against The Beach, including a 2-1 victory in the 2013 NCAAs. This is the third time in four seasons and 25th time in 27 seasons the Broncos have qualified for the NCAA Tournament. 

In all, the WCC has made 78 NCAA appearances, culminating in 19 Final Four trips and three national titles. Portland won the College Cup in 2002 and 2005, with Santa Clara winning the title in 2001. Last season Pepperdine, a No. 4 national seed, marched to the third round of the NCAAs before falling at No. 1 seeded UCLA.