{{ article.title }}

Three WCC Programs Selected For 2016 NCAA Tournament

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook

SAN BRUNO, Calif. – For the eighth consecutive season at least three West Coast Conference women’s soccer programs will advance to the 2016 NCAA Tournament as announced today. Conference co-champions No. 4 BYU and No. 20 Pepperdine are joined by Santa Clara in this season’s tournament field. 

A perennial multi-bid conference, the Cougars make their fifth straight NCAA postseason trip as a WCC member (18th overall), the Waves are making their ninth appearance and the Broncos are making their 26th berth.

All three WCC programs will host opening round matches in the 2016 NCAA Tournament.

A No. 4 national seed, BYU will host UNLV Friday at 6 p.m. PT. after earning an at-large bid. Pepperdine claims the league’s automatic bid and will host California at Rokus Field Saturday afternoon at 1 p.m. PT. Santa Clara earned an at-large bid and will host an opening round match against Long Beach State for the second consecutive season with kickoff at Stevens Stadium scheduled for 1:00 p.m. on Saturday.

No. 4 seed BYU (16-2-1, 7-1-1 WCC) earns its fifth consecutive NCAA Tournament bid and will face a Rebels team that the Cougars have an all-time record of 15-1-2 against.

Pepperdine (12-4-3, 7-1-1 WCC) hosts an opening round match for the fourth consecutive NCAA appearance after also hosting in 2011, 2012 and 2014. The Waves have advanced past the first round of the tournament five of the nine times it has made the postseason and has eight NCAA Tournament wins in its history. The Waves are 1-1-3 all-time against the Golden Bears.

Santa Clara (9-6-4, 6-2-1 WCC), making its 26th NCAA Tournament in the last 28 years, are riding a four-match winning streak and finished third in the WCC. The Broncos played one of the toughest schedules in the country and ended up facing five of the top-seven RPI teams in the country, going 1-1-2 in those matches.

In all, the WCC has made 81 NCAA appearances, culminating in 19 Final Four trips and three national titles. Portland won the College Cup in 2002 and 2005, with Santa Clara winning the title in 2001. Last season, Loyola Marymount marched to the third round of the NCAA Tournament while BYU and Santa Clara both were second round participants..

West Coast Conference in the NCAA Tournament
UNLV at BYU – Friday, 6pm PT
Long Beach State at Santa Clara – Saturday, 1pm PT
Cal at Pepperdine – Saturday, 1pm PT