{{ article.title }}

WCC Awards 2016 Postgraduate Scholarships

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook


SAN BRUNO, Calif. --- The 2016 West Coast Conference Postgraduate Scholarship recipients were announced at the at the seventh annual WCC Honors Dinner, held in conjunction with the Executive Council and Presidents' Council meetings at the Claremont Hotel in Berkeley, Calif. University of the Pacific tennis student-athlete Sem Verbeek was named the Male Postgraduate Scholarship winner, while University of San Diego tennis student-athlete Marta Stojanovic was named the Female Postgraduate Scholarship winner. 

Verbeek is the first Tiger to capture a Postgraduate Scholarship since the award was instituted in 2004. Stojanovich is the second consecutive Torero to earn the WCC Postgraduate Scholarship, joining volleyball standout Alaysia Brown, the 2015 recipient. 

To be eligible for a WCC Postgraduate Scholarship, a student-athlete must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.25, demonstrate significant athletic contributions to his or her sport for a minimum of two years, and have a record of participation in campus or community activities. He or she also must submit a personal statement of intention to attend graduate or professional school for which this scholarship would be awarded. 

Sem Verbeek graduated from the University of the Pacific with a 3.94 GPA, as a undergraduate student in Exercise and Sports Science. The 2016 West Coast Conference Player of the Year, Verbeek lifted Pacific to a third place finish in the conference standings while posting a sparkling 19-2 record at number one singles, including an unblemished 9-0 slate during WCC play. A two-time Amos Alonzo Stagg Scholar-Athlete of the Year at Pacific, Verbeek capped his standout career by being named the Department of Health and Exercise Science Student of the Year. 

A two-time WCC All-Academic selection, Verbeek collected multiple regional and national ITA awards following his senior campaign. The Amsterdam native collected Northwest Region Player of the Year, Most Improved and was honored with the Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship awards. In addition, Verbeek captured the 2016 Rafaael Osuna Sportsmanship Award, presented to the Division I men’s player displaying sportsmanship, character combined with outstanding academic and athletic accomplishments. An active participant in community service and on-campus initiatives, Verbeek represented the WCC at the National NCAA Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) and served as a San Quentin Prison Rehabilitation Volunteer. 

Vebeek plans to enroll in medical school with a specialization in orthopedics with a long-term goal of working in the field of sports medicine as a team doctor. 

Marta Stojanovic graduated with a perfect 4.0 GPA in Behavioral Neuroscience and compiled a standout tennis career at the University of San Diego. A two-time ITA Scholar-Athlete, Stojanovic posted 98 career victories for the Toreros and served as team captain as a junior and senior. During her final season at San Diego, she posted 11 victories, including five wins at number one singles during WCC play. 

Stojanovic turned in a remarkable resume of success in the classroom as well and represented the College of Arts and Sciences as the 2016 Valedictorian. A three-time WCC All-Academic selection, the Belgrade, Serbia native provided the keynote address at the 2016 University of San Diego President’s Luncheon and received the 2015 Society of Neuroscience Travel Award. A four-year Dean’s List selection, Stojanovic earned an Undergraduate Research Scholarship from USD. In addition to her academic achievement, Stojanovic served on the Torero Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) and volunteered at numerous not-for-profit organizations including the Center for Youth Integration, the Martin Luther King Parade and the Junior Seau Foundation. 

Stojanovic will pursue a Ph.D. program in clinical psychology at Washington University in St. Louis and will specialize in neuropsychology with a focus on Alzheimer’s disease research. 

2016 – Sem Verbeek (PAC) and Marta Stojanovic (USD)
2015 – Scott Fauble (POR) and Alaysia Brown (USD)
2014 - Benjamin Demaree (SCU) and Naseeb Bhangal (GON)
2013 - Aiden Irish (POR) and Ashley Armstrong (SCU)
2012 - Miles Batty (BYU) and Tanya Schmidt (SCU)
2011 - Christopher Mosier (SCU), Jessica Tsao (POR)
2010 - Thomas Betterbed (POR), Lori Conrad (GON)
2009 - David Kinsella (POR), Elizabeth Doran (SCU)
2008 - Mitchell Henke (SCU), Lauren Zuckerman (GON)
2007 - Richard Johnson (PEP), Kari Evans (POR)
2006 - Keith Jarbo (PEP), Kari Durgan (GON)
2005 - Andreas Gahlmann (POR), Robin Bell (SCU)
2004 - Kellen Hiroto (USD), Imani Dorsey (POR)