{{ article.title }}

WCC Women’s Basketball 2017-18 Schedule Announced

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook 


SAN BRUNO, Calif. – The West Coast Conference announced its 2017-18 women's basketball conference schedule on Wednesday. The race for the WCC regular season crown will be contested over a nine-week span, and consist of a double round-robin format. Conference play is slated to begin on Thursday, December 28, 2017 and will conclude on Saturday, February 24, 2016. 

Due to the compressed nine-week schedule, no team will have a bye during the WCC regular season. In order to accommodate the compressed schedule, this is the second year of a two-year cycle where the conference schedule will not feature travel partners.

All 10 West Coast Conference teams open the 2017-18 women’s basketball season on December 28 with Santa Clara travelling to Pepperdine in not only the conference opener but also the first conference game of the Delisha Milton-Jones era in Malibu. The opening-weekend is bookended with BYU visiting Saint Mary’s on December 30 in a meeting between two postseason teams from the prior season.

A highlight in January includes a meeting between the defending regular season and tournament champion, Gonzaga, and the runner-up Saint Mary’s Gaels on Thursday, January 18 when the Bulldogs travel to the Moraga to continue the rivalry. The two teams meet again in Provo on Saturday, February 10.

The regular season culminates at the 2018 West Coast Conference Basketball Championships. The West Coast Conference is celebrating its 10th season hosting its basketball championship in Las Vegas, and the 2018 edition will take place from March 1-6 at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas.

Fans can expect an announcement regarding the full slate of WCC telecasts in the coming month. The complete 2017-18 West Coast Conference women's basketball schedule can be accessed via the link above, but is subject to change.  

The 2016-17 season marked the eighth consecutive year that at least three WCC programs advanced to the postseason, led by an NCAA Tournament appearances from Gonzaga. BYU and Saint Mary’s represented the conference in the WNIT.