{{ article.title }}

#WCChoops Places Three on AP All-American Squads

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook

SAN BRUNO, Calif. – Three West Coast Conference student-athletes were named to the 2015-16 Associated Press All-American Men’s Basketball Team as announced this week. BYU senior guard Kyle Collinsworth, the 2015-16 WCC Player of the Year and Gonzaga forwards Domantas Sabonis and Kyle Wiltjer represented the conference on the prestigious list.

This marks the second straight year three student-athletes earned an All-American nod and the WCC has place at least one on the first, second, third and/or honorable mention lists in 15 consecutive seasons. Last year BYU’s Tyler Haws earned his third straight All-American accolade and was joined by his backcourt mate Collinsworth. Gonzaga’s Kevin Pangos and Wiltjer both earned spots on the third team.

Collinsworth has led the Cougars to a 26-11 record and a trip to NIT semifinals in Madison Square Garden. The Provo, Utah, native has also been named the West Coast Conference Player of the Year, USBWA and NABC All-District and first-team All-High Major by College Sports Madness.

The multitalented point guard averaged 15.2 points, 8.4 rebounds, 7.5 assists and 1.9 steals. Collinsworth has posted six triple-doubles, tying his NCAA record-setting total from last season. His 12 career triple-doubles are also an NCAA record and six more than any other player in Division I college basketball history.

Collinsworth is ranked fifth in the country in assists per game, 41st in steals and 95th in rebounds, making him one of only two players in the country – along with LSU’s Ben Simmons – ranked in the top 100 in all three categories.

BYU’s all-time career leader in assists, total rebounds and offensive rebounds, Collinsworth is also second all-time in career steals and games started and third in double-doubles. His 7.5 assists per game and 270 total assists are BYU single season records.

Sabonis, who also earned All-WCC First Team and NABC All-District First Team honors, ranks second on the team at 17.6 points per game and leads the WCC with 11.8 rebounds per game (No. 6 nationally) and 23 double-doubles (No. 5 nationally). He's second in the league with a .611 field goal percentage. Sabonis has scored in double figures 32 times and had 20-plus in 12 of those contests. His 426 rebounds on the season ranks as the highest single-season total at Gonzaga in the Division I era (1958-present) and the third-highest ever.

In addition, Sabonis was also named a CoSIDA Academic All-America Second Team honoree as well as a CoSIDA Academic All-District first-teamer and a WCC All-Academic first-teamer.

Wiltjer, who was named an AP Third Team All-American last season, Sabonis helped lead Gonzaga to its seventh Sweet 16, WCC regular season and tournament titles and a 28-8 overall record.

Wiltjer led the team with 20.4 point per game and his 736 total points this season is the fourth-highest single-season point total in Gonzaga history. He also led the team with 90 three-pointers, tied for sixth all-time at Gonzaga, and was second on the team in rebounding at 6.3 per game. In two years at Gonzaga, he scored 1,374 points, which ranks in the schools top 20 all-time. Wiltjer also earned All-WCC First Team and NABC All-District First Team honors.

According to the Associated Press, voting was done before the NCAA Tournament.

First Team
Denzel Valentine, Michigan State
Buddy Hield, Oklahoma
Tyler Ulis, Kentucky
Brice Johnson, North Carolina
Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia

Second Team
Jakob Poeltl, Utah
Ben Simmons, LSU
Perry Ellis, Kansas
Kris Dunn, Providence
Georges Niang, Iowa State

Third Team
Grayson Allen, Duke
Yogi Ferrell, Indiana
Jarrod Uthoff, Iowa
Kay Felder, Oakland
Jamal Murray, Kentucky

Honorable Mention (in alphabetical order)
Ryan Anderson, Arizona; Anthony "Cat" Barber, N.C. State; DeAndre' Bembry, Saint Joseph's; Ben Bentil, Providence; Trevon Bluiett, Xavier; Joel Bolomboy, Weber State; Evan Bradds, Belmont; Dillon Brooks, Oregon; Cane Broome, Sacred Heart; John Brown, High Point; Antonio Campbell, Ohio; Kyle Collinsworth, BYU; Stephen Croone, Furman; James Daniel III, Howard; Juan'ya Green, Hofstra; Derrick Griffin, Texas Southern; Alex Hamilton, Louisiana Tech; A.J. Hammons, Purdue; Marvelle Harris, Fresno State; Josh Hart, Villanova; Danuel House, Texas A&M; Brandon Ingram, Duke; Stefan Jankovic, Hawaii; Tim Kempton, Lehigh; Max Landis, IPFW; Shawn Long, Louisiana-Lafayette; Dallas Moore, North Florida; Nic Moore, SMU; Gary Payton II, Oregon State; Alec Peters, Valparaiso; Justin Robinson, Monmouth (N.J.); Domantas Sabonis, Gonzaga; Justin Sears, Yale; Pascal Siakam, New Mexico State; Melo Trimble, Maryland; Fred VanVleet, Wichita State; Thomas Walkup, Stephen F. Austin; Jameel Warney, Stony Brook; Isaiah Whitehead, Seton Hall; Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga.