2010-11 WCC Commissioner's Cup

Dr. Mary E. Lyons and Ky Snyder talk about winning the 2010-11 Cup | Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

SAN BRUNO, Calif. -- The University of San Diego has captured the 2010-11 West Coast Conference Commissioner's Cup, awarded to the WCC institution garnering the most success during conference play. San Diego's late-season success propelled the Toreros to the top of the Cup standings. In the process, the University of San Diego becomes the first West Coast Conference school to win the Commissioner's Cup four straight years.

"Congratulations to President Mary Lyons, [Executive Director of Athletics] Ky Snyder, and all of the University of San Diego student-athletes, coaches, and staff on becoming the first WCC institution to win the Commissioner's Cup for the fourth straight year," said West Coast Conference Commissioner Jamie Zaninovich. "In a conference that values broad-based athletic success, this award recognizes USD's over-arching excellence in a highly competitive field of eight, like minded member institutions. Their run has been truly remarkable."

The University of San Diego also captured the Women's All-Sports Trophy for the third time in the last four years, while the University of San Francisco won the Men's All-Sports Trophy for the second time in the last three years. The awards were handed out as part of the second annual WCC Honors Dinner, held in San Francisco on Thursday night.

"From the beginning of the year, we had a theme for all of our student-athletes. It was `Four the Cup,'" Snyder explained. "We thought it really represented a broad-based athletic program and we're trying to have all of our student-athletes strive to be the very best that they can be. And if everybody does that, then we should end up with the Cup at the end."

The WCC Commissioner's Cup is an all-sports award presented at the end of each academic year to the league's top performing school in conference play and is based on a point system, reflecting the finish of each team in conference play. The institution with the highest point total after combining the men's and women's point totals is honored with the Commissioner's Cup.

In 2010-11, the Toreros captured WCC titles in volleyball, men's tennis, and rowing, while finishing second at the women's tennis championship and in a second place tie in women's soccer. USD's 34 women's points clinched the Women's All-Sports Trophy, topping second place Pepperdine University by four points.

Propelled by team championships in men's golf and baseball, the University of San Francisco won its second Men's All-Sports Trophy in the last three years. The Dons accumulated 37 points to best second place Santa Clara University by 5.5 points.

Overall, San Diego finished atop the Commissioner's Cup standings with 62.5 points, besting second place Santa Clara (61.0 points) by a mere point and a half. Buoyed by its WCC recent baseball title, San Francisco finished third with 59 total Cup points. The University of Portland and Saint Mary's College finished in a fourth-place tie (57.5 points each). Gonzaga University (51.0 points), Loyola Marymount University (50.5 points), and Pepperdine (42.0 points) round out the final 2010-11 standings.

Since the race for the Commissioner's Cup began in 2002, San Diego has won the Cup more times than any other WCC member institution, with four consecutive first-place finishes (2008-11). Pepperdine won the first three Cups (2002-2004), Santa Clara has won a pair (2005, 2007), and Loyola Marymount won the Commissioner's Cup in 2006.

2010-11 West Coast Conference Commissioner's Cup Final Standings

1. San Diego 62.5
2. Santa Clara 61.0
3. San Francisco 59.0
4t. Portland 57.5
4t. Saint Mary's 57.5
6. Gonzaga 51.0
7. Loyola Marymount 50.5
8. Pepperdine 42.0

Men's All-Sports
1. San Francisco 37.0
2. Santa Clara 31.5
3t. Portland 28.5
3t. San Diego 28.5
5. Saint Mary's 27.5
6. Gonzaga 25.0
7. Loyola Marymount 24.0
8. Pepperdine 11.0

Women's All-Sports
1. San Diego 34.0
2. Pepperdine 31.0
3. Saint Mary's 30.0
4. Santa Clara 29.5
5. Portland 29.0
6. Loyola Marymount 26.5
7. Gonzaga 26.0
8. San Francisco 22.0

Previous Commissioner's Cup Releases in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader
2009-2010 | 2008-2009 | 2007-2008 | 2006-2007 | 2005-2006 | 2004-2005 | 2003-2004 | 2002-2003 | 2001-2002


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago