BYU wins its first-ever West Coast Conference Commissioner's Cup

<I>BYU President Cecil O. Samuelson accepts the 2012-13 West Coast Conference Commissioner's Cup June 5 in Napa, Calif.</i>
BYU President Cecil O. Samuelson accepts the 2012-13 West Coast Conference Commissioner's Cup June 5 in Napa, Calif.

June 6, 2013

| BYU A.D. Tom Holmoe on winning the Cup | WCC 2012-13: A Look Back

NAPA, Calif. -- Brigham Young University has captured the 2012-13 West Coast Conference Commissioner's Cup, awarded to the WCC institution garnering the most success during conference play. In its second year in the West Coast Conference, BYU captures the award by edging the University of San Diego - winners of the Cup in each of the last five years.

En route to winning the Commissioner's Cup, BYU also won both the Men's All-Sports Trophy and the Women's All-Sports Trophy, becoming the first institution to capture all three awards in the same year since San Diego in 2007-08.

"It's a great privilege for me to represent Brigham Young University in receiving this Commissioner's Cup," said BYU President Cecil O. Samuelson. "All of the credit goes to Tom [Holmoe], Janie [Penfield], the rest of their great staff and our terrific coaches and particularly the hundreds of outstanding young student-athletes who represent not only athletics but themselves and their families in a very positive way."

The awards were handed out as part of the fourth annual WCC Honors Dinner, held Wednesday night at the Napa Valley Marriott.

"The Commissioner's Cup is a very big thing at our institution, and San Diego has had a grip on that," said BYU Athletic Director Tom Holmoe. "When I was a kid, the games that you wanted to win the most were the ones against your best friends out on the sandlot. You can lose and you feel so bad. But you come back after, and they're your friends. That's what's great about the WCC."

The WCC Commissioner's Cup is an all-sports award presented at the end of each academic year to the league's top performing school in conference play and is based on a point system, reflecting the finish of each team in conference play. The institution with the highest point total after combining the men's and women's point totals is honored with the Commissioner's Cup.

In 2012-13, the Cougars captured a WCC title in women's soccer, while sharing the WCC title in volleyball. BYU's 42 women's points clinched the Women's All-Sports Trophy, topping second place San Diego by 3.5 points.

BYU placed in the top four of every men's conference sport in which it competes, winning the Men's All-Sports Trophy. The Cougars accumulated 36 points, topping both San Diego and the University of San Francisco by a mere 0.5 points each.

Overall, BYU finished atop the Commissioner's Cup standings with 78.0 points, besting second place San Diego (74.0 points) and third place Saint Mary's College (65.5 points). Gonzaga University finished fourth with 63.5 points, followed by San Francisco (62.5 points), Santa Clara University (60.5 points), and Pepperdine University (51.5 points). The University of Portland (50.5 points) and Loyola Marymount University (47.0 points) round out the 2012-13 standings.

Red Lion 2012-13 West Coast Conference Commissioner's Cup Final Standings

1. BYU 78.0
2. San Diego 74.0
3. Saint Mary's 65.5
4. Gonzaga 63.5
5. San Francisco 62.5
6. Santa Clara 60.5
7. Pepperdine 51.5
8. Portland 50.5
9. Loyola Marymount 47.0

Men's All-Sports
1. BYU 36.0
2t. San Diego 35.5
2t. San Francisco 35.5
4t. Gonzaga 35.0
4t. Saint Mary's 35.0
6. Santa Clara 25.5
7. Portland 22.0
8. Pepperdine 21.5
9. Loyola Marymount 20.0

Women's All-Sports
1. BYU 42.0
2. San Diego 38.5
3. Santa Clara 35.0
4. Saint Mary's 30.5
5. Pepperdine 30.0
6t. Gonzaga 28.5
6t. Portland 28.5
8t. Loyola Marymount 27.0
8t. San Francisco 27.0

Previous Commissioner's Cup Releases
2011-12 | 2010-11 | 2009-2010 | 2008-2009 | 2007-2008 | 2006-2007 | 2005-2006 | 2004-2005 | 2003-2004 | 2002-2003 | 2001-2002

Year Commissioner's Cup Men's All-Sports Women's All-Sports
2012-13 BYU BYU BYU
2011-12 San Diego Saint Mary's San Diego
2010-11 San Diego San Francisco San Diego
2009-10 San Diego San Diego Pepperdine
2008-09 San Diego San Francisco San Diego
2007-08 San Diego San Diego San Diego
2006-07 Santa Clara Santa Clara Pepperdine
2005-06 Loyola Marymount San Francisco Santa Clara
2004-05 Santa Clara Santa Clara Santa Clara
2003-04 Pepperdine Pepperdine Pepperdine
2002-03 Pepperdine Pepperdine Pepperdine
2001-02 Pepperdine Pepperdine Pepperdine & Santa Clara


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago