BYU Wins Second Straight WCC Commissioner's Cup

June 5, 2014

2013-14 WCC Commissioner's CupGet Acrobat Reader

PARK CITY, Utah -- Brigham Young University won the 2013-14 West Coast Conference Commissioner's Cup, awarded to the WCC institution enjoying the most success during conference play. It is the second straight Commissioner's Cup victory for the Cougars in their third year in the West Coast Conference.

It was an historic win for BYU as the Cougars established a new West Coast Conference record for margin of victory (12.5) and joined Pepperdine University (2003-04) as the only institution to win the Cup by double-digits (12.0 points).

With the Commissioner's Cup win, BYU becomes the fourth member institution to win the award in multiple years and is the third to post back-to-back victories. The University of San Diego won a league-record five consecutive Cups from 2007-08 through 2011-12.

En route to winning the Commissioner's Cup, BYU also won the Women's All-Sports Trophy and a share of the Men's All-Sports Trophy with Gonzaga University. The Cougars captured both awards for the second straight season.

"It really is a privilege to receive the award this year on behalf of BYU because of the kind of competition that is there, not only in terms of on the field and on the court, but also in terms of the values of the institutions and the academics of the institutions," BYU president Kevin Worthen said. "It really is an honor, on behalf of the university, and the student-athletes and coaches and staff at BYU, to accept this award."

The awards were handed out as part of the fifth annual West Coast Conference Honors Dinner, held Wednesday night at Canyons Resort in Park City, Utah.

The West Coast Conference Commissioner's Cup is an all-sports award presented at the end of each academic year to the league's top performing school in conference play and is based on a point system, reflecting the finish of each team in conference play. The institution with the highest point total after combining the men's and women's point totals is honored with the Commissioner's Cup.

In 2013-14, the Cougars captured West Coast Conference titles in men's cross country, men's golf and won the inaugural softball championship while sharing the WCC crown in women's soccer. BYU's 54.5 women's points clinched the Women's All-Sports Trophy, topping second place San Diego by 7.0 points.

BYU posted three top-three finishes on the men's side, while Gonzaga posted four top-four finishes, highlighted by a West Coast Conference Championship in men's basketball to share the Men's All-Sports Trophy. The BYU sweep of the men's and women's trophies is the program's second straight and the seventh such sweep since the Commissioner's Cup was established in 2001-02. The 2013-14 Men's All-Sports Trophy is the first for Gonzaga. The Cougars and Bulldogs each collected 37.5 points, just ahead of Santa Clara University (37.0 points).

Overall, BYU finished atop the Commissioner's Cup standings with 92.0 points, besting second place Gonzaga (79.5 points) and third place Santa Clara (79.0 points). San Diego finished fourth with 75.5 points, followed by Pepperdine (71.5 points), Saint Mary's College (68.0 points), and the University of San Francisco (64.5 points). Loyola Marymount University (62.0 points), the University of Portland (60.5 points) and the University of the Pacific (44.0 points) round out the 2013-14 standings.

Final 2013-14 Commissioner's Cup Standings
(updated 6/4/14)
Santa Clara79.0
San Diego75.5
Saint Mary's68.0
San Francisco64.5
Loyola Marymount62.0
Men's All-Sports
Santa Clara37.0
Loyola Marymount33.5
San Francisco31.5
San Diego28.0
Saint Mary's27.5
Women's All-Sports
San Diego47.5
Santa Clara42.0
Saint Mary's40.5
San Francisco33.0
Loyola Marymount28.5

Previous Commissioner's Cup Releases
2012-13 | 2011-12 | 2010-11 | 2009-2010 | 2008-2009 | 2007-2008 | 2006-2007 | 2005-2006 | 2004-2005 | 2003-2004 | 2002-2003 | 2001-2002

Year Commissioner's Cup Men's All-Sports Women's All-Sports
2013-14 BYU BYU & Gonzaga BYU
2012-13 BYU BYU BYU
2011-12 San Diego Saint Mary's San Diego
2010-11 San Diego San Francisco San Diego
2009-10 San Diego San Diego Pepperdine
2008-09 San Diego San Francisco San Diego
2007-08 San Diego San Diego San Diego
2006-07 Santa Clara Santa Clara Pepperdine
2005-06 Loyola Marymount San Francisco Santa Clara
2004-05 Santa Clara Santa Clara Santa Clara
2003-04 Pepperdine Pepperdine Pepperdine
2002-03 Pepperdine Pepperdine Pepperdine
2001-02 Pepperdine Pepperdine Pepperdine & Santa Clara


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago