Scholar-Athletes of the Year

Mike Gilleran WCC Scholar-Athletes of the Year

The Mike Gilleran WCC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award recognizes the finest accomplishments in athletics, academics, and community service by individuals who have completed their collegiate eligibility. The award was re-named in honor of the conference's first full-time Commissioner, Mike Gilleran, who retired after 24 years of service to WCC.

REDONDO BEACH, Calif. -- The 2017 West Coast Conference Mike Gilleran Scholar-Athletes of the Year were announced at the eighth annual WCC Honors Dinner, held in conjunction with the Executive Council and Presidents' Council meetings at the Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach and Marina Hotel. All-Americans Amy Boswell (volleyball) of BYU and Nigel Williams-Goss (basketball) of Gonzaga University were the two recipients for this year.

Boswell is the second Cougar to win the Mike Gilleran Scholar-Athlete of the Year award and the first since 2013 when Miles Batty (cross country) took home the award. Williams-Goss is the ninth Bulldog to capture this honor and it's the second straight year a Gonzaga men's basketball player has taken home the award (Kyle Witljer).

The Mike Gilleran Scholar-Athlete of the Year is selected by a vote of the WCC's Executive Council to recognize the finest accomplishments in athletics, academics and community service by individuals who have completed their collegiate eligibility. The award is named in honor of the conference's first full-time commissioner, Mike Gilleran.


Amy Boswell graduated from BYU with a 3.88 GPA in Nursing while also being an impact player for the volleyball program over her years in Provo. The two-time All-WCC first team selection and 2015 WCC Defensive Player of the Year, Boswell helped lead the Cougars to three-straight WCC championships, four-straight WCC Sweet 16 appearances, including an appearance in the NCAA National Championship game in 2014. The Aloha, Oregon native leaves Provo ranked in the top-ten in block assists, total blocks, and blocks per game in program history.

A three-time AVCA All-American, Boswell was named CoSIDA Division I Academic All-American of the Year, making her the first female student-athlete in BYU history to capture the prestigious honor. A three-time Academic All-WCC member, Boswell has also volunteered in in various hospitals, including going to Sapa, Vietnam to teach the natives about first aid and hygiene. She also volunteered hundreds of hours locally in the emergency room at Timpanogos Regional Hospital in Orem, Utah.


Nigel Williams-Goss graduated from Gonzaga University in 2016 with a 3.84 GPA in Psychology and achieved a perfect 4.0 GPA while participating in the Organizational Leadership Masters Program. The 2017 WCC Player and Newcomer of the Year made his lone season in Spokane a memorable one, leading the Bulldogs to the NCAA National Championship Game. Williams-Goss was named to several postseason All-American teams, including First Team All-America by both Sports Illustrated and USBWA.

Williams-Goss was also very active in the Spokane community by making several visits to VA Hospital, Sacred Heart Children's Hospital, and the N7/Coeur D'Alene Tribe Clinic. In addition to the success on the court, Williams-Goss was also named to the All-WCC Academic Team, COSIDA Academic First Team All-American, the NCAA Elite 90 Award and the D1-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

2016 - Sterling Shuster (LMU) and Kyle Wiltjer (GON)
2015 - Alaysia Brown (USD) and Johnny Dee (USD)
2014 - Clarke Spinosa (USD) and Haiden Palmer (GON)
2013 - Matthew Dellavedova (SMC) and Ana Pontes (PEP)
2012 - Miles Batty (BYU) and Kim Hill (PEP)
2011 - Dylan Leslie (SMC), Jessica Tsao (POR)
2010 - Thomas Betterbed (POR), Jennifer Heinser (USF)
2009 - Greg Moss (LMU), Julie Rubenstein (PEP)
2008 - Tavo Hall (USF), Stephanie Cox (POR)
2007 - Richard Johnson (PEP), Kim McGivens (SCU)
2006 - Nick Kliebert (PEP), Christine Sinclair (POR)
2005 - Michael Putnam (PEP), Megan Kakadelas (SCU)
2004 - Blake Stepp (GON), Kate Murray (LMU) & Imani Dorsey (POR)
2003 - Jeff Kovar (LMU), Katherine Hull (PEP) & Aly Wagner (SCU)
2002 - Dan Dickau (GON), Danielle Slaton (SCU)
2001 - Michael Cortez (LMU), Anne Garrison (SCU)
2000 - Bryan Bothwell (POR), Susan Erpelding (USD)
1999 - Clemens Phillipi (LMU), Brittany Lindhe (USF)
1998 - David Sivulich (SMC), Tracy Holman (LMU)
1997 - Uli Steidl (POR), Mollie Flint (SMC)
1996 -Brendan Graves (SCU), Valerie Gillon (USF)
1995 - Jacob Slania (USD), Margaret Krawiec (SCU)
1994 - Jeff Brown (GON), Sheri Brown (LMU)
1993 - Jason Boykoff (POR), Nikki Rosenfeldt (POR)
1992 - Jarrod Davis (GON), Martha Sheldon (POR)
1991 - Brenden Griffin (USD), Anja Bordt (SMC)
1990 - Joe DeBortoli (USF), Paula Mascari (USD)
1989 - Rick Hirtensteiner (PEP), Tracy Thorne (POR)
1988 - Wes Bilven (SCU), Mary Carlson (USF)
1987 - Steve Krallman (USD), Debbie Dunbar (USF)
1986 - John bustos (USF), Chris Starr (NEV)
1985 - Bryce McPhee (GON)
1984 - John Stockton (GON)
1983 - Brandon Bennett (SMC)
1982 - Bill Dunlap (GON)
1981 - Al Smoot (USF)
1980 - Ted Wood (SMC)
1979 - Rodney Lee (USF)
1978 - Patrick McVeigh (SCU)
1977 - John O'Shaughnessy (SCU)
1976 - Dick Skophammer (PEP)

Female Award started after 1986


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago