Mike Gilleran WCC Scholar-Athletes of the Year

The Mike Gilleran WCC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award recognizes the finest accomplishments in athletics, academics, and community service by individuals who have completed their collegiate eligibility. The award was re-named in honor of the conference's first full-time Commissioner, Mike Gilleran, who retired after 24 years of service to the WCC.


SAN BRUNO, Calif. -- The 2014 West Coast Conference Mike Gilleran Scholar-Athletes of the Year were announced at the fifth annual WCC Honors Dinner, held last week in conjunction with the Executive Council and Presidents' Council meetings at Canyons Resort in Park City, Utah. San Diego men's tennis standout Clarke Spinosa was named the Male Mike Gilleran Scholar-Athlete of the Year, and the Female Mike Gilleran Scholar-Athlete of the Year award winner was Gonzaga University women's basketball All-American Haiden Palmer. The Mike Gilleran Scholar-Athlete of the Year is selected by a vote of the WCC's Executive Council to recognize the finest accomplishments in athletics, academics and community service by individuals who have completed their collegiate eligibility. The award is named in honor of the conference's first full-time commissioner, Mike Gilleran.


Clarke Spinosa graduated with a 3.1 GPA in Finance and compiled one of the most notable tennis careers at the University of San Diego. Playing primarily at the No. 1 singles position, Spinosa helped lead the Toreros to four NCAA Tournament berths and two WCC Championship titles.

Spinosa was named the 2011 WCC Freshman of the Year, named to the All-WCC First Team twice, and achieved a career-high national singles ranking of No. 27 during his final season. To cap off his career, he was selected to compete in the 2014 NCAA Singles Championship in Athens, Georgia.


Haiden Palmer graduated from the Gonzaga's Master's program of Communication and Leadership with a 4.0 GPA, earning her a spot on the WCC All-Academic Team. One of the most accomplished women's basketball players in WCC history, Palmer was named the 2011-12 WCC Newcomer of the Year and the 2013 WCC Most Outstanding Player at the WCC Women's Basketball Championship.

Palmer helped Gonzaga to three WCC regular season titles, two WCC Tournament Championships and three NCAA Tournaments, reaching the Sweet 16 in 2012. Palmer also was recently selected in the WBNA Draft by the Indiana Fever, becoming the fifth player in program history to be drafted by the WNBA.

2014 - Clarke Spinosa (USD) and Haiden Palmer (GON)

2013 - Matthew Dellavedova (SMC) and Ana Pontes (PEP)

2012 - Miles Batty (BYU) and Kim Hill (PEP)

2011 - Dylan Leslie (SMC), Jessica Tsao (POR)

2010 - Thomas Betterbed (POR), Jennifer Heinser (USF)

2009 - Greg Moss (LMU), Julie Rubenstein (PEP)

2008 - Tavo Hall (USF), Stephanie Cox (POR)

2007 - Richard Johnson (PEP), Kim McGivens (SCU)

2006 - Nick Kliebert (PEP), Christine Sinclair (POR)

2005 - Michael Putnam (PEP), Megan Kakadelas (SCU)

2004 - Blake Stepp (GON), Kate Murray (LMU) & Imani Dorsey (POR)

2003 - Jeff Kovar (LMU), Katherine Hull (PEP) & Aly Wagner (SCU)

2002 - Dan Dickau (GON), Danielle Slaton (SCU)

2001 - Michael Cortez (LMU), Anne Garrison (SCU)
2000 - Bryan Bothwell (POR), Susan Erpelding (USD)
1999 - Clemens Philippi (LMU), Brittany Lindhe (USF)
1998 - David Sivulich (SMC), Tracy Holman (LMU)
1997 - Uli Steidl (POR), Mollie Flint (SMC)
1996 - Brendan Graves (SCU), Valerie Gillon (USF)
1995 - Jacob Slania (USD), Margaret Krawiec (SCU)
1994 - Jeff Brown (GON), Sheri Brown (LMU)
1993 - Jason Boykoff (POR), Nikki Rosenfeldt (POR)
1992 - Jarrod Davis (GON), Martha Sheldon (POR)
1991 - Brenden Griffin (USD), Anja Bordt (SMC)
1990 - Joe DeBortoli (USF), Paula Mascari (USD)
1989 - Rick Hirtensteiner (PEP), Tracy Thorne (POR)
1988 - Wes Bilven (SCU), Mary Carlson (USF)
1987 - Steve Krallman (USD), Debbie Dunbar (USF)
1986 - John bustos (USF), Chris Starr (NEV)
1985 - Bryce McPhee (GON)
1984 - John Stockton (GON)
1983 - Brandon Bennett (SMC)
1982 - Bill Dunlap (GON)
1981 - Al Smoot (USF)
1980 - Ted Wood (SMC)
1979 - Rodney Lee (USF)
1978 - Patrick McVeigh (SCU)
1977 - John O'Shaughnessy (SCU)
1976 - Dick Skophammer (PEP)

Female Award started after 1986