No. 5 BYU Men, No. 17 San Francisco Women Capture 2013 WCC Cross Country Championships

USF's Bridget Dahlberg won the 6k women's race
USF's Bridget Dahlberg won the 6k women's race

Nov. 2, 2013



MALIBU, Calif. - The No. 5 Brigham Young men's team and the No. 17 University of San Francisco women's team won titles at the 2013 West Coast Conference Cross Country Championships on a beautiful Saturday morning at Alumni Park on the Pepperdine University campus. Jason Witt (23:14) of BYU won the men's 8k race, while USF's Bridget Dahlberg (20:55) captured the women's 6k title. 

With the win, the Cougars (30) collected their second team championship in three seasons, after losing the 2012 title to 2013 runner-up Portland by a one-point margin. The Pilots (48), were followed by Loyola Marymount (110) in third place, two points in front of fourth-place Gonzaga (112). San Francisco (132) rounded out the top-five teams. 

"I'm just impressed by the fact that so many of my guys put themselves in the race from right at the gun," WCC Coach of the Year Ed Eyestone of BYU said. "We felt like if the pace was honest, we felt like we were the better team. We respect Portland. They're a great team 

Witt is the second straight Cougar to win the men's race. USF's Eric Causey (23:14) was individual runner-up, followed by Portland's Scott Fauble (23:17) and William Kincaid (23:25). BYU's Steve Flint (23:29) rounded out the top-five finishers for the Cougars, who placed four in the top-10. 

"This has been a big goal of mine all season," Witt said. "I've been open about it. When people ask me what my goals are, I say winning the conference meet has always been tops on my list. There's a lot of excitement that comes from achieving that goal." 

San Francisco posted its fifth-straight women's championship. The Dons (39) placed four runners in the top-10. Portland (62) edged BYU (62) by tiebreaker for runner-up honors. Loyola Marymount (79) posted a fourth-place finish, while Gonzaga (112) rounded out the top-five teams. 

"Winning the West Coast Conference Championship obviously means a lot to our program and university," WCC Women's Coach of the Year Helen Lehman-Winters of USF said. "It's not an easy thing to come into the meet with the expectation that you should win, but we handled it well." 

Dahlberg is the second consecutive Don to win the individual title. Portland's Laura Hottenrott (20:58) was runner-up two seconds in front of teammate Gina Paletta (21:00). Sheree Shea (21:05) and Grace Graham-Zamudi (21:11), both of LMU, rounded out the top-five individual finishers. 

"This is my first year at USF, so I'm really happy I could be a part of something they've been working so hard for four years before I came here," Dahlberg said. "I feel really to be on this "drive for five team". 

Official 2013 WCC Men's Cross Country Results

  1. BYU, 30
  2. Portland, 48
  3. Loyola Marymount, 110
  4. Gonzaga, 112
  5. San Francisco, 132
  6. Santa Clara, 155
  7. Saint Mary's, 170
  8. Pepperdine, 265
  9. San Diego, 266

2013 All-WCC Cross Country Men's Team
First Team
Jason Witt, BYU
Eric Causey, USF
Scott Fauble, POR
William Kincaid, POR
Steve Flint, BYU
Tylor Thatcher, BYU
Thomas Gruenewald, BYU
Rajpaul Pannu, SMC
Willie Milam, GON
Weston Strum, LMU 

Honorable Mention
Spencer Gardner, BYU
David Perry, POR
Jonathan Nelson, BYU
Danny Martinez, POR
Ryan Poland, POR 

Men's Coach of the Year
Ed Eyestone, BYU 

Men's Freshman of the Year
Danny Martinez, Portland  

Official 2013 WCC Women's Cross Country Results

  1. San Francisco, 39
  2. Portland, 62
  3. Brigham Young, 62
  4. Loyola Marymount, 79
  5. Gonzaga, 112
  6. Santa Clara, 194
  7. Pepperdine, 201
  8. San Diego, 222
  9. Saint Mary's, 266
  10. Pacific, 300 

2013 All-WCC Cross Country Women's Team
First Team
Bridget Dahlberg, USF
Laura Hottenrott, POR
Gina Paletta, POR
Sheree Shea, LMU
Grace Graham-Zamudi, LMU
Maor Tiyouri, USF
Andrea Harrison, BYU
Sophie Curl, USF
Natalie Shields, BYU
Eva Krchova, USF 

Honorable Mention
Lauren Bergam, GON
Tansey Lystad, POR
Sarah Yingling, BYU
Kate Jamboretz, USF
Danielle Shanahan, LMU

Women's Coach of the Year
Helen Lehman-Winters, San Francisco  

Women's Freshman of the Year
Danielle Shanahan   








  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago