WCC Announces 2015 Baseball All-Conference Team


May 19, 2015

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook


2015 All-WCC Baseball Get Acrobat Reader

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - After winning the West Coast Conference regular season title in convincing fashion, San Diego took four of five major individual honors and placed six student-athletes on the 2015 All-WCC first and second teams as announced today by the league office.

San Diego junior shortstop Kyle Holder captured West Coast Conference Player of the Year honors, junior righthander David Hill earned conference Pitcher of the Year accolades, while first-year star infielder Bryson Brigman collected the Freshman of the Year award for the Toreors. Junior catcher Joey Harris of Gonzaga captured Defensive Player of the Year honors to break up the Torero sweep. San Diego's Rich Hill was selected as Coach of the Year by his peers. All five individual awards - along with the All-West Coast Conference First, Second and Freshman Teams - were voted on solely by the league's 10 head coaches.

Kyle Holder is the seventh San Diego student-athlete to capture West Coast Conference Player of the Year honors since 2007 and the second consecutive. Named to the 30-player Golden Spikes Award Watch List, Holder hit .387 with 13 doubles, two triples, one home run and 19 RBI during league play. The junior shortstop turned in a .976 fielding percentage, committing just three errors in 127 chances and contributed to 10 double plays during WCC games.

David Hill made a remarkable impact in his first season in a Torero uniform. Named to the National Pitcher of the Year Watch List, Hill posted a sparkling 7-1 record with a league-best 1.38 ERA. Opposing hitters managed a .163 batting average. In 72.0 innings, Hill allowed 11 earned runs and struck out 83 while walking 17. A three-time West Coast Conference Pitcher of the Week, Hill is the fourth Torero honored as Pitcher of the Year and the first since Kyle Blair in 2010.

Bryson Brigman enjoyed a strong freshman campaigns for San Diego. During league play, Brigman hit .356 with seven doubles, two triples, a home run and drove in 17 while scoring 26 runs. The infielder ranked second among league leaders in hits (28) and was fourth in runs in WCC contests. Brigman is the eighth Torero named Freshman of the Year and the first since current Major Leaguer Kris Bryant was tabbed in 2011.

Joey Harris enjoyed a strong season for Gonzaga behind the plate and collected Defensive Player of the Year honors. Harris stifled the running game for opponents all season long as would-be base-stealers went 27-55 overall on the base paths. Harris posted a .982 fielding percentage with four errors in 228 chances during WCC play. Harris produced at the plate, batting .293 with two doubles and drove in 13 runs in league play. Harris is the first Gonzaga player to collect Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Rich Hill earns his fifth Coach of the Year honor after guiding San Diego to its first regular season championship since 2010. The Toreros posted a 19-8 conference slate (32-20 overall) and cracked the national top-25 poll. San Diego went 6-1 against top-25 foes in 2015 and ranked second in team ERA (3.71), team batting (.300) and led the WCC in fielding (.981) during league contests.

The first pitch of the 2015 WCC Baseball Championship is on Thursday at 3:00 p.m. PDT, when top-seed San Diego faces No. 4 Loyola Marymount. That game will be followed by No. 2 Pepperdine vs. No. 3 BYU at approximately 7 p.m. PDT. The first five games of the championship will be broadcast live on TheW.tv, while Saturday's Championship game will be carried live on ESPNU and on WatchESPN.

2015 West Coast Conference Player of the Year
Kyle Holder, Jr., SS, San Diego
2015 West Coast Conference Pitcher of the Year
David Hill, Jr., RHP, San Diego
2015 West Coast Conference Freshman of the Year
Bryson Brigman, Fr., IF, San Diego
2015 West Coast Conference Defender of the Year
Joey Harris, Jr., C, Gonzaga
2015 West Coast Conference Coach of the Year
Rich Hill, San Diego


Player Yr. Pos. School
Bryson Brigman Fr. IF San Diego
Brandon Caruso So. OF Pepperdine
Christian Cecilio Sr. LHP San Francisco
P.J. Conlon Jr. LHP San Diego
David Fletcher So. SS Loyola Marymount
Mitchell Gunsolus Sr. IF Gonzaga
David Hill Jr. RHP San Diego
Kyle Holder Jr. SS San Diego
Taylor Jones Jr. 1B Gonzaga
Hutton Moyer Jr. IF Pepperdine
Dillon Robinson Sr. 1B/3B BYU
Anthony Villa Jr. IF Saint Mary's
Jose Vizcaino Jr. Jr. SS Santa Clara


Player Yr. Pos. School
Stevie Berman So. C Santa Clara
David Edwards Sr. 2B Loyola Marymount
Jesse Jenner Sr. C San Diego
Connor Hornsby Jr. OF Saint Mary's
Reece Karalus Jr. RHP Santa Clara
Cory LeBrun Sr. DH/OF Gonzaga
Jackson McClelland Jr. RHP Pepperdine
Austin Miller So. CF Loyola Marymount
Hayden Nielsen Jr. SS BYU
Anthony Shew Jr. RHP San Francisco
Tyler Sullivan Sr. CF Pacific
Colton Waltner So. OF San Diego
Colin Welmon Sr. RHP Loyola Marymount

Derek Atkinson, San Francisco; Austin Bailey, San Diego; Aaron Barnett, Pepperdine; J.D. Busfield, Loyola Marymount; Matt Gelalich, Pepperdine; Connor Hofmann, San Francisco; Jake Jenkins, Pacific; Cody Lenahan, Portland; Trevor Megill, Loyola Marymount; Andrew Sopko, Gonzaga; Kevin Wade, Portland; Sean Watkins, Loyola Marymount; Johnny York, Saint Mary's


Player Pos. School
Riley Adams DH San Diego
Bryson Brigman IF San Diego
Tyler Frost OF/RHP Gonzaga
Sam Granoff LHP San Francisco
Zach Kirtley IF Saint Mary's
Jordan Qsar OF/RHP Pepperdine
Colton Shaver DH BYU
Sean Watkins RHP/OF Loyola Marymount
Mitchell White RHP Santa Clara
Ryan Wilson LHP Pepperdine




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago