WCC Announces Men's Basketball All-Conference Team

BYU's Tyler Haws named 2013-14 WCC Player of the Year
BYU's Tyler Haws named 2013-14 WCC Player of the Year

March 3, 2014

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | #WCChoops Tournament Central| Video: All-WCC Honors

2014 MBB All-WCC ReleaseGet Acrobat Reader

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - After ranking third nationally in scoring as a junior, BYU's Tyler Haws captured West Coast Conference Player of the Year honors. Senior Pepperdine forward Brendan Lane earned conference Defender of the Year accolades, while freshman Jared Brownridge collected the Crons Newcomer of the Year award. San Francisco's Rex Walters was selected as Coach of the Year. All four individual awards - along with the All-West Coast Conference Team and the All-Freshman Team - were voted on by the league's 10 head coaches.

Tyler Haws is the first BYU student-athlete selected as WCC Player of the Year in its three seasons in the conference and the first for the Cougars since 2011 National Player of the Year Jimmer Fredette captured Mountain West Conference accolades in 2010-11. Haws averaged 23.5 points per game, while shooting 48.0 percent from the field during league play. Haws turned in the highest scoring game since 1990 when he scored 48 in a triple overtime game at Portland and scored at least 20 points 18 times and enters the 2014 WCC Championship with 1,855 career points in 100 career games, good for 15th place on the league's career scoring chart.

Brendan Lane is the third Pepperdine student-athlete to capture Defensive Player of the Year and the first since Cedric Suitt won it in 2001-02. A member of the 2013-14 WCC All-Academic Team, the senior forward led the league in blocked shots (2.5). In addition, Lane averaged 12.0 points on 49.7 percent shooting from the field to go along with 6.6 rebounds during league play as the Waves posted an upper echelon finish after being picked last in the preseason poll.

Jared Brownridge is the eighth Bronco student-athlete named Crons Newcomer of the year and the first since Kevin Foster - the second leading scorer in WCC history - was tabbed for the award in 2008-09. Brownridge turned in a prolific offensive season for Santa Clara and ranked second in scoring at 18.4 points per game during league contests. Brownridge posted back-to-back 30-point nights during league play and capped a remarkable regular season with a career-high 38 points at Pepperdine on Saturday.

Rex Walters is the 11th San Francisco mentor to collect Coach of the Year honors and the first since Pete Barry picked up the hardware in 1980-81. Despite losing a returning preseason All-WCC selection four games into the season, Walters guided San Francisco to just the second 20-win campaign since 1981-82- both coming under Walters's guidance. The Dons finished tied for second in the WCC standings at 13-5, the highest league win tally since 1976-77.

Of the 10-member All-WCC First Team, eight appeared on the 2013-14 preseason All-WCC squad. Loyola Marymount's Anthony Ireland and Gonzaga's Kevin Pangos both appear on the postseason first team for the third consecutive year.

All 10 West Coast Conference teams head to Las Vegas to compete for the conference championship and subsequent automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. Action tips off at the 2014 West Coast Conference Basketball Championships Thursday, March 6 when No. 7 Portland takes on No. 10 Loyola Marymount at 6:00 p.m. in a contest broadcast live nationally on BYUtv from the Orleans Arena.

Player of the Year
Tyler Haws, Jr. G, BYU

Defensive Player of the Year
Brendan Lane, Sr., F, Pepperdine

Crons Newcomer of the Year
Jared Brownridge, Fr., G, Santa Clara

Coach of the Year
Rex Walters, San Francisco


Player Yr. Pos. School
Kyle Collinsworth So. G BYU
Stacy Davis So. F Pepperdine
Johnny Dee Jr. G San Diego
Cole Dickerson Sr. F San Francisco
Sam Dower Jr. Gr. F Gonzaga
Tyler Haws Jr. G BYU
Stephen Holt Sr. G Saint Mary's
Anthony Ireland Sr. G Loyola Marymount
Kevin Pangos Jr. G Gonzaga
Brad Waldow Jr. C Saint Mary's

Jared Brownridge, Santa Clara; Matt Carlino, BYU; Brandon Clark, Santa Clara; Tony Gill, Pacific; Avry Holmes, San Francisco; Przemek Karnowski, Gonzaga; Brendan Lane, Pepperdine; Ryan Nicholas, Portland; Kruize Pinkins, San Francisco; Thomas van der Mars, Portland


Player Pos. School
Jared Brownridge G Santa Clara
Gabe Levin F Loyola Marymount
Jeremy Major G Pepperdine
Eric Mika C BYU
Evan Payne G Loyola Marymount



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago