San Diego and Loyola Marymount Garner Men's Tennis Highest Individual Honors


April 21, 2015

WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook

SAN BRUNO, Calif.- The West Coast Conference announced Tuesday that University of San Diego Uros Petronijevic has been named Player of the Year, while Brett Masi took head Coach of the Year laurels. Loyola Marymount's Errol Smith landed Freshman of the Year honors as selected by the league coaches. A total of 23 singles student-athletes, and 10 doubles teams were recognized as All-Conference honorees.

Petronijevic the Toreros' No. 1 singles player, is currently ranked No. 52 in the nation. The Smederevo, Serbia native is currently enjoying a six-match winning streak in singles, while boasting an overall record of 20-10 singles play and dual season mark of 12-5. The junior upperclassman has defeated seven nationally ranked player this season, including No. 18 Denis Nguyen of Harvard, No. 45 Gage Brymer of UCLA, No. 29 Harrison Adams of Texas A&M, No. 6 Yannick Hanfmann of USC, No. 93 Henry Craig of Denver, No. 42 Alen Salibasic of Drake, and No. 105 Freddy Gelbrich of San Diego State. This season, Petronijevic has posted a 3-1 outing against league opponents. The All-WCC First Team honoree is the second player in San Diego's history to receive the prestigious Player of the Year award, as Dean Jackson earned the honor during 2011 campaign.



Smith had a break out year in leading LMU to the No. 6 seed in the WCC tennis championship. This season, Smith has played Errol at the top of the Lions lineup the entire year. He has a 7-2 record in the No. 1 slot, and 5-6 in the No. 2 position. Errol has also played at the top of the doubles line where he merited a 5-5 record at No. 1 doubles with teammate Joat Farah, while his overall dual match ledger boasts a 14-10 outing in singles, and 11-10 in doubles. The Los Angeles, California, native has registered the most wins for the Lions with 12. The All-WCC First Team honoree was also named Singles Player of the Week (Feb. 23) and Doubles Team of the Week with Farah (Mar. 17).

In his sixth season in leading San Diego, his peers honored Masi as Coach of the Year. He has led the Toreros to four-straight NCAA second round appearances, and is the first-ever coach to hold the longest-running undefeated record against conference play at 20-0. Masi also claims the highest winning percentage in program history at .833 (previous .818 1980). This season, Masi and the squad captured the West Coast Conference regular season title, and during the Toreros run, they only allowed five points in league play.

The Torero's earned the top seed, and will face he winner of No. 8 Santa Clara and No. 9 Gonzaga. Meanwhile, LMU will face No. 3 San Francisco in the quarterfinal round on Thursday at 3 p.m.

2015 WCC Men's Tennis Postseason Award Winners
Player of the Year: Uros Petronijevic, San Diego
Freshmen of the Year: Errol Smith, LMU
Coach of the Year: Brett Masi, San Diego

All-WCC First Team Singles
Alvaro Nazal, Gonzaga
Miguel Diaz, Pacific
Steffen Dierauf, Portland
Uros Petronijevic, San Diego
Filip Vittek, San Diego
Bernardo Saraiva, San Francisco

All-WCC Second Team Singles
Francis Sargent, BYU
Charles Boyce III, LMU
Guilherme Hadlich, Pepperdine
Jordan Angus, San Diego
Ashot Khacharyan, Santa Clara
Ilya Osintsev, Santa Clara

Singles Honorable Mention: Nick Kamisar, Gonzaga; Errol Smith, LMU; Jose Chamba, Pacific; Pedro Iamachkine, Pepperdine; Luca Marquard, Pepperdine; Reid deLaubenfels, Portland; Michail Pervolarakis, Portland; Arthur Weber, Saint Mary's; Roamin Kalaydjian, San Diego; Nils Skajaa, San Francisco; Thomas Takemoto, San Francisco

All-WCC First-Team Doubles
Guilherme Hadlich and Rakshay Thakkar, Pepperdine
Filip Vittek and Jordan Angus, San Diego
Bernardo Saraiva and Nils Skajaa, San Francisco

All-WCC Second-Team Doubles
Steffen Dierauf and Reid deLaubenfels, Portland
Sam Bertram and Ilya Osintsev, Santa Clara
Mikheil Khmiadashvili and Ashot Khacharyan, Santa Clara

Doubles Honorable Mention:Alvaro Nazal and Nick Kamisar, Gonzaga; Charles Boyce III and Cristobal Rivera, LMU; Miguel Diaz and Jose Chamba, Pacific; Marlon Brand and Daniel Alameh, Pacific


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago