Portland and San Diego Garner WCC Men’s Tennis Postseason Top Honors

April 25, 2018

SAN BRUNO, Calif. –  Portland senior Michail Pervolarakis bested last season’s record-breaking performance by repeating as the WCC Player of the Year, breakout freshman August Holmgren of San Diego is the conference Freshman of the Year and Toreros head coach Ryan Keckley was selected as the WCC Coach of the Year, the conference office announced Wednesday. 

A total of 23 singles student-athletes and 12 doubles teams were recognized as All-Conference honorees. All three individual awards - along with the All-West Coast Conference Teams - were voted on by the league's 10 head coaches.

One season after becoming the first Portland men’s student-athlete to earn the conference’s top honor, Pervolarakis impressed even more as a senior in finishing the year with a 12-1 dual record that includes an unbeaten mark against conference competition at No. 1 singles. The 2017 ITA Northwest Regional Champion becomes just the fifth student-athlete to earn back-to-back WCC Player of the Year honors after going 6-0 against WCC competition. He joins Sebastian Fanselow (2012-13), Andre Begemann (2007-08), Scott Doerner (2005-06) and Al Garland (2000-02) as the only student-athletes to earn the two-time honor with Pervolarakis becoming the first from a school other than Pepperdine to do so.

Holmgren brings the Freshman of the Year award to San Diego for the first time since 2013 after posting a 10-4 dual record and going unbeaten in conference play as the only freshman in the WCC competing at No. 1 singles. He finished the year with four wins against nationally-ranked opponents, including then-No. 8 Brandon Holt of Southern California. Holmgren earned All-WCC First Team honors in both singles and alongside doubles partner Joel Gamerov.

Keckley earns his first WCC Coach of the Year honor after leading the Toreros to their fourth regular season title in five years and second in his three-year tenure. The Toreros went 8-1 in conference play, winning four of those matches with 4-0 sweeps.

The men’s teams will kick off the WCC tennis championships on Thursday, April 27 with the first serve at 10 a.m.

2018 WCC  Men's Tennis Postseason Award Winners
Player of the Year:  Michail Pervolarakis, Portland
Freshman of the Year:  August Holmgren, San Diego
Coach of the Year: Ryan Keckley, San Diego 

All-WCC First Team Singles
Andrew Gu, Santa Clara
Sean Hill, BYU
August Holmgren, San Diego
Johan Joenhagen, San Francisco
Damon Kesaris, Saint Mary’s
Michail Pervolarakis, Portland 

All-WCC Second Team Singles
Dane Esses, Pepperdine
Mathieu Garcia, Portland
Lukas Moenter, Loyola Marymount
Gui Osorio, San Diego
Ruadhan O’Sullivan, Gonzaga
Mert Zincirli, San Francisco 

Singles Honorable Mention: Alex Araouzos, San Diego; Jesus Tapiador Barajas, Santa Clara; Nick Borchenko, Loyola Marymount; Nico Borter, San Diego; Sam Feit, Gonzaga; Ben Gajardo, BYU; Joel Gamerov, San Diego; Connor Garnett, Santa Clara; Jeffrey Hsu, BYU; Bernardo Oliveira, Pacific; Sam Tullis, BYU


All-WCC First Team Doubles
Bernardo Oliveira and Akram El Sallaly, Pacific
Dane Esses and Lautaro Pane, Pepperdine
August Holmgren and Joel Gamerov, San Diego

All-WCC Second Team Doubles
Sam Feit and Ruadhan O’Sullivan, Gonzaga
Sean Hill and Jeffrey Hsu, BYU
Nico Borter and Gui Osorio, San Diego 

Doubles Honorable Mention: Nick Borchenko and Gabriel Diaz-Freire, Loyola Marymount; Charles Boyce and Lukas Moenter, Loyola Marymount; Michail Pervolarakis and Tom Hann, Portland; Mathieu Garcia and Pierre Garcia, Portland; Johan Joenhagen and Mert Zincirli, San Francisco; Andrew Gu and Robert Seby, Santa Clara




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago