WCC Women's Soccer All-Conference Team Announced



Nov. 10, 2010


SAN BRUNO, Calif. - For the fourth straight season, Portland posted an unbeaten conference record and was rewarded with the Player of the Year and the Coach of the Year honors. Portland senior Keelin Winters took home the West Coast Conference's top honor, while Pilots' Head Coach Garrett Smith earned the league's top coaching accolade. Portland senior Jessica Tsao was named the WCC Defensive Player of the Year, while Santa Clara's Julie Johnston won the league's Freshman of the Year award, as voted upon by the WCC head coaches.

Winters is the ninth Pilot in WCC history to garner the league's Player of the Year award, and the fourth straight, following former UP standouts Michelle Enyeart (2009), Megan Rapinoe (2008), Angie Woznuk (2007), Christine Sinclair (2005, 04, 02), Erin Misaki (2000), Justi Baumgardt (1996), Shannon MacMillan (1995, 93), and Tiffeny Milbrett (1994, 92).

Winters was the catalyst of a Pilot team that led the WCC in every statistical category, including shots, goals, assists, points and opponent goals against average. She added two goals and four assists, including the first game-winner of her career. This is her first appearance on the all-conference first team after two previous second-team selections and a showing on the All-Freshman team in 2007.

Tsao is the fourth Portland player to win the conference's top defensive honor, and the first since former Pilot Stephanie Lopez took home the award in 2007. Tsao helped anchor a Portland defense that allowed just one goal in conference play while posting six shutouts against WCC competition. Overall the Pilots gave up just 11 goals during the regular season.

Johnston is the eighth Bronco to be named the WCC's Freshman of the Year, and the second straight year a Santa Clara player has been so recognized. She added a pair of goals and team-high five assists, including a pair against soon-to-be WCC member BYU, to the Broncos attack.



For leading the Pilots to their record 12th league crown, Smith was awarded his fifth WCC Coach of the Year honor and his fourth in a row. Smith has led the Pilots to an active unbeaten streak of 31 straight matches in WCC play.

Portland, Santa Clara and San Diego earned berths to the 2010 NCAA Tournament and open play this Friday, Nov. 12, with hopes of advancing to the College Cup. The Pilots host Texas-San Antonio in their opener, while the Broncos face Long Beach State at Stanford and the Toreros go against Wake Forest on the UC Irvine campus.

2010 West Coast Conference Player of the Year

Keelin Winters, Sr., MF, Portland

2010 West Coast Conference Defensive Player of the Year

Jessica Tsao, Sr., D, Portland

2010 West Coast Conference Freshman of the Year

Julie Johnston, MF, Santa Clara

2010 West Coast Conference Coach of the Year

Garrett Smith, Portland

2010 All-West Coast Conference First Team

Name Yr Pos School Hometown

Danielle Foxhoven Jr. F Portland Littleton, CO

Bianca Henninger Jr. GK Santa Clara Los Gatos, CA

Jordan Marada Fr. MF Saint Mary's Mission Viejo, CA

Tawni Martino Fr. F Loyola Marymount Irvine, CA

Stephanie Ochs Jr. F San Diego San Diego, CA

Michelle Pao Fr. D/F Pepperdine Cupertino, CA

Anessa Patton Sr. F Santa Clara Fresno, CA

Elli Reed Sr. D Portland Park City, UT

Jessica Tsao Sr. D Portland Portland, OR

Keelin Winters Sr. MF Portland Englewood, CO

Jackie Zinke Sr. MF San Diego Newport Beach, CA

2010 All-West Coast Conference Second Team

Name Yr Pos School Hometown

Briana Campos Fr. F Saint Mary's Highland, CA

Cloee Colohan Fr. D Portland West Point, UT

Rachel Fell So. MF Loyola Marymount Crawley, England

Natalie Garcia Jr. D San Diego Valley Center, CA

Kendall Johnson So. MF Portland Portland, OR

Lindsey Johnson Sr. D/MF Santa Clara Phoenix, AZ

Julie Johnston Fr. MF Santa Clara Mesa, AZ

Sheridan Jones Sr. MF Gonzaga Hillsboro, OR

Olivia Klei So. D Santa Clara Pleasanton, CA

Ashley O'Brien Sr. D San Francisco Broad Brook, CT

Amanda Poach Sr. MF Santa Clara Bowie, MD

2010 All-West Coast Conference Honorable Mention

Roxanne Barker (Pepperdine), Micaela Capelle (Portland), Alex Ciliento (Saint Mary's), Laura Cole (Pepperdine), Michelle Cruz (Portland), Catherine Cullen (Gonzaga), Kristin DeGrandmont (Pepperdine), Hailee DeYoung (Portland), Julie Gallaudet (Loyola Marymount), Cassie Geerdts (Gonzaga), Etajha Gilmer (Loyola Marymount), Maxine Goynes (Santa Clara), Nickey Ha (Loyola Marymount), Hanna Haanes (San Francisco), Taylor Housley (San Diego), Brittany Jagger (Loyola Marymount), Gunny Jonsdottir (Pepperdine), Halley Kreminski (Portland), Lauren Maris (San Francisco), Lauren Matheson (Santa Clara), Ashlyn Mazur (San Francisco), Cori McGovern (Loyola Marymount), Christina Moberg (San Francisco), Jordan Nelson (Loyola Marymount), Courtney Parsons (San Diego), Daelyn Paul (Saint Mary's), Ellie Rice (Santa Clara), Caroline Shevlin (Saint Mary's), Meleana Shim (Santa Clara), Kelsea Smith (Pepperdine), Elle Sweeney (Gonzaga).

2010 All-West Coast Conference Freshman Team

Name Pos School Hometown

Micaela Capelle F Portland Gresham, OR

Cloee Colohan D Portland West Point, UT

Michelle Cruz MF Portland Thousand Oaks, CA

Taylor Housley MF San Diego Eugene, OR

Brittany Jagger GK Loyola Marymount Allen, TX

Julie Johnston MF Santa Clara Mesa, AZ

Jordan Marada MF Saint Mary's Mission Viejo, CA

Tawni Martino F Loyola Marymount Irvine, CA

Kelley McCloskey MF San Diego San Marino, CA

Christina Moberg MF San Francisco Kristiansand, Norway

Michelle Pao D/F Pepperdine Cupertino, CA


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago