WCC Announces 2009 Women's Soccer All-Conference Teams

Santa Clara's Jordan Angeli was named the 2009 WCC Defensive Player of the Year
Santa Clara's Jordan Angeli was named the 2009 WCC Defensive Player of the Year

Nov. 11, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - For the third straight season the University of Portland posted an undefeated conference record and for the third straight season the Pilots were rewarded with the Player of the Year and the Coach of the Year honors. Portland senior Michelle Enyeart took home the conference's top honor, while Pilots' Head Coach Garrett Smith earned the league's top coaching accolade. Santa Clara senior Jordan Angeli was named the WCC Defensive Player of the Year, while Portland's Kendall Johnson and Santa Clara's Allie Vernon shared the league's Freshman of the Year award.

Enyeart enjoyed a standout senior season, scoring six goals and assisting on six more Pilot goals for 18 points. The Hemet, CA native ranks fourth on UP's career points list with 136 (48g, 40a). Her 48 goals and 40 assists are both fourth on the Pilots' career charts. Enyeart scored her 100th career point in the 2009 season opener and then joined the 30-goal, 30-assist club one game later. She is one of only six Pilots to have accomplished the feat. Enyeart is the eighth Pilot in WCC history to garner the league's Player of the Year award, and the third straight, following former UP standouts Megan Rapinoe (2008), Angie Woznuk (2007), Christine Sinclair (2005, 04, 02), Erin Misaki (2000), Justi Baumgardt (1996), Shannon MacMillan (1995, 93), and Tiffeny Milbrett (1994, 92).

Angeli is the seventh Santa Clara player to win the conference's top defensive honor, and the first since former Bronco Leslie Osborne took home the award in 2004. Angeli helped anchor a Bronco defense that allowed just four goals in conference play and posted three shutouts.

Kendall is the 11th Pilot to be named the WCC's Freshman of the Year and the fifth in-a-row, while Vernon is the seventh Santa Clara player to be named Freshman of the Year, and the first since Lauren Zealear earned the award in 2003. Kendall follows teammates Foxhoven (2008), Keelin Winters (2007), Enyeart (2006) and Megan Rapinoe (2005), as well as former UP standouts Lindsey Huie (2002), Christine Sinclair (2001), Michelle French (1995), Holly Pierce (1994), Justi Baumgardt (1993), and Shannon MacMillan (1992).

For leading the Pilots to their record 11th league crown, Smith was awarded his fourth WCC Coach of the Year honor and his third in-a-row. Smith has led the Pilots to 21-straight conference wins, marking the longest winning streak in WCC play in league history.

Player of the Year: Michelle Enyeart, POR
Defensive Player of the Year: Jordan Angeli, SCU
Co-Freshman of the Year: Kendall Johnson, POR & Allie Vernon, SCU
Coach of the Year: Garrett Smith, POR

2009 All-WCC First Team
Jordan Angeli, SCU
Kiki Bosio, SCU
Kelsey Davis, POR
Michelle Enyeart, POR
Danielle Foxhoven, POR
Julie Gallaudet, LMU
Sophia Medina, PEP
Jessica Menzhuber, SMC
Stephanie Ochs, USD
Sophie Schmidt, POR
Natalie Vinti, USD

2009 All-WCC Second Team
Roxanne Barker, PEP
Kendra Chandhoke, POR
Kendall Johnson, POR
Sheridan Jones, GON
Kelly Reilly, PEP
Katherine Reynolds, SCU
Michelle Spacciapolli, PEP
Megan Sweeney, POR
Jessica Tsao, POR
Allie Vernon, SCU
Keelin Winters, POR
Jackie Zinke, USD

2009 All-WCC Honorable Mention
Lacey Bartels, LMU; Cammie Burke, PEP; Allyssa Clark, LMU; Kim Feeney, LMU; Maxine Goynes, SCU; Kristina Hall, USF; Tiffany Harrison, LMU; Hallie Huston, USD; Halley Kreminski, POR; Jenny La Ponte, SCU; Elissa Magracia, USD; Christine Mock, USD; Ashley O'Brien, USF; Anessa Patton, SCU; Daelyn Paul, SMC; Amanda Poach, SCU; Eli Reed, POR; Kelsea Smith, PEP; Elle Sweeney, GON

2009 All-WCC Freshman Team
Roxanne Barker, PEP
Mariah Hobbs, USD
Emily Hutchins, GON
Kendall Johnson, POR
Lauren Matheson, SCU
Cori McGovern, LMU
Daelyn Paul, SMC
Kelsea Smith, PEP
Christina Tognetti, SMC
Allie Vernon, SCU
Kelsey Wilson, LMU




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago