Pepperdine Headlines Women’s Tennis All-WCC Honors

April 25, 2018

SAN BRUNO, Calif. – Pepperdine senior Mayar Sherif makes it four consecutive West Coast Conference Player of the Year awards for the Waves, teammate Evgeniya Levashova and Loyola Marymount’s Veronica Miroshnichenko were named the Co-Freshmen of the Year, and Waves head coach Per Nilsson was selected as the WCC Coach of the Year, the conference office announced Wednesday.

A total of 20 singles student-athletes, and 10 doubles teams were recognized as All-Conference honorees. All three individual awards - along with the All-West Coast Conference Teams - were voted on by the league's 10 head coaches.

Pepperdine is in the midst of an impressive streak of four consecutive year in earning at least a share of all three major awards as Sherif becomes joins Luisa Stefani (2006-17) and Lorraine Guillermo (2015) as Waves to take the top conference honor in the last four years. Sherif, ranked in the national Top 20 in both singles and doubles, finished the season tied for a team-best 17-1 (.944) dual record that includes a perfect 7-0 mark in WCC play at both No. 2 and No. 3 singles. All of her singles wins both in and out of conference were in straight sets. She also boasted a team-best 16 wins in doubles.

Levashova had yet another breakout season for a Pepperdine freshman to claim the conference’s Freshman of the Year distinction, becoming the fourth consecutive Wave to take home the honor behind teammates Laura Gulbe (2015), Luisa Stefani (2016) and Ashley Lahey (2017). Levashova went 17-1 in duals this season, including a perfect 7-0 mark against WCC opposition at No. 3 and No. 4 singles.

Miroshnichenko earns Co-Freshman of the Year honors after one of the top seasons for a freshman in the country with her 14-3 dual record at No. 1 singles. She becomes the first Lion to be named the WCC Freshman of the Year. Miroshnichenko went 5-2 against WCC competition and also went 4-2 in conference play at No. 1 doubles alongside partner Eva Marie Voracek.

Nilsson guided the Waves to a perfect 9-0 record – eight coming via sweeps – en route to their seventh consecutive WCC regular season title. It is the fourth consecutive WCC Coach of the Year honor for the fourth-year head coach, who sports a 35-1 regular season record against conference competition, including an active stretch of 27 consecutive wins against WCC teams.

The women's teams will kick off the WCC tennis championships on Thursday, April 28 with the first serve at 2 p.m.

2018 WCC  Women’s Tennis Postseason Award Winners
Player of the Year:  Mayar Sherif, Pepperdine
Co-Freshmen of the Year: Evgeniya Levashova, Pepperdine and Veronica Miroshnichenko, Loyola Marymount
Coach of the Year: Per Nilsson, Pepperdine 

All-WCC First Team Singles
Ashley Lahey, Pepperdine
Veronica Miroshnichenko, Loyola Marymount
Mayar Sherif, Pepperdine
Luisa Stefani, Pepperdine
Sophie Whittle, Gonzaga
Evgeniya Levashova, Pepperdine 

All-WCC Second Team Singles
Nevada Apollo, Gonzaga
Madison Clarke, Santa Clara
Laura Gulbe, Pepperdine
Mariia Kozyreva, Saint Mary’s
Maddie Pothoff, Santa Clara
Eva Marie Voracek, Loyola Marymount 

Singles Honorable Mention: Hind Abdelouahid, Saint Mary’s; Anastasia Abramyan, BYU; Nicole Anderson, San Diego; Mayci Jones, BYU; Jelena Lukic, Portland; Dzina Milovanovic, Pepperdine; Daniella Morales, San Diego; Maayan Sela, Pacific


All-WCC First Team Doubles
Graciela Rosas and Sophie Whittle, Gonzaga
Veronica Miroshnichenko and Eva Marie Voracek, Loyola Marymount
Luisa Stefani and Mayar Sherif, Pepperdine

All-WCC Second Team Doubles
Evgeniya Levashova and Dzina Milovanovic, Pepperdine
Hind Abdelouahid and Mariia Kozyreva, Saint Mary’s
Madison Clarke and Maddie Pothoff, Santa Clara 

Doubles Honorable Mention: Mayci Jones and Anastasia Abramyan, BYU; Alex Bourguignon and Haruna Tsuruta, Gonzaga; Ashley Lahey and Adrijana Lekaj, Pepperdine; Daniela Morales and Nicole Anderson, San Diego




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago